New Golf Cart Law In Florida Affects Teen Drivers
I always get nervous when I see kids, even teenagers, driving golf carts. A new law in the state of Florida was passed on Sunday that addresses this issue related to golf carts.
There are many communities around our Tampa Bay community where golf carts are prevalent. I see them on Davis Islands, Highland Park, which is near Westchase, downtown Dunedin…just to name a few.
You always worry about golf carts potentially getting in car accidents with automobiles on the road. The thought is terrifying.
Well, this new law requires teens to have a learner’s permit or a driver’s license in order to operate a golf cart.
I’m all in favor of this. Prior to this law going into affect, 14-year-olds were permitted to drive golf carts on public roads. That seems crazy. Doesn’t it? Especially when you take into consideration all the safety features golf carts are lacking when compared to automotive vehicles. There are no doors, seatbelts or air bags in golf carts.
Our friends at News Channel 8 talked to golf cart owners/drivers on Davis Islands dot find out they’re feedback.
Doctors and medical professionals have witnessed an uptick in golf cart injuries in recent years.
Penalties Under the New Florida Golf Cart Law
So with this new Florida law in place, what will happen if somoene under the age of 15 (without a learner’s permit) is caught driving a golf cart? They will be issued a non-criminal traffic infraction. The fine will be up to $10.
This new Florida law works to keep teens and kids safe in golf carts.
For more on this story, click here.