Texting & Driving Banned In Florida
Think before you pick up your phone to text while you’re driving.
Governor DeSantis has signed a bill that bans texting and driving in Florida. This comes after he signed HB 107 on Friday morning, which would make the act a primary offense.
Officers will now be able to pull you over for texting while operating your vehicle.
“I think it’s something that’s appropriate, I think it’ll make our roads safer,” said Governor DeSantis.
Be informed that the new law will go into effect on July 1st and only warnings will be given until January. After that, officers will be writing citations.
The offense will cost you $30 the first time, $60 the second time and don’t forget all the court fees that come along with getting a citation.