Mason Dixon

Weekdays 3:00pm - 7:00pm

ATLANTA, GA - JANUARY 08: DeVonta Smith #6 of the Alabama Crimson Tide catches a 41 yard touchdown pass to beat the Georgia Bulldogs in the CFP National Championship presented by AT&T in overtime at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on January 8, 2018 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

Were you expecting a rout? It took overtime to crown a champion college football team. Would it be Alabama or Georgia? By now, you probably already know.

After leading through the first half, the Georgia Bulldogs couldn’t keep their lead as the Alabama Crimson Tide evened the score at 20-20 with less than 4 minutes to go in the game.

Though Georgia took a 3-point lead on a field goal on their first overtime possession, a 16-yard loss by Alabama didn’t stop them from scoring the game-winning touchdown. Alabama won 26-23.

A freshman quarterback, Tua Tagovailoa, took over the Alabama offense in the second half to lead them to their comeback.

Click here for the full story.